Georgina Pioneer Village and Archives
What is there to do?
At the request of the Georgina Historical Society, the Town of Georgina passed a resolution in 1974 setting aside ten acres of land as the permanent site for what would become the Georgina Pioneer Village & Archives. Officially inaugurated by Chief of the Chippewas of Georgina Island, Lorenzo Big Canoe, on Thanksgiving Day, 1975, the Village opened with two buildings: a backwoods log house constructed circa 1870, and a Free Methodist Church built in 1889. A succession of buildings has been moved to the Pioneer Village between the late 1970s and 1999. Located near the south shore of beautiful Lake Simcoe, this ten-acre site is now home to sixteen structures that interpret the rich history of Georgina between 1850 and 1920, including a one-room schoolhouse, a general store, a train station, a blacksmith shop, an apothecary, among other significant historic structures.